42nd Tagilskaya Missile Division

42-я ракетная Тагильская дивизия

Military Unit: 34103


Activated 5.60 in Nizhniy Tagil, Sverdlovsk Oblast, as the 202nd Missile Brigade, from the 18th Howitzer Artillery Brigade and the 19th Tank Training Regiment.

Initial organisation:

30.5.61 renamed 42nd Missile Division.

The 688th Missile Regiment was transferred to Belokorovichi (50th Missile Division) in September 1962 - the three other regiments were all disbanded 15.4.63, and each BSP site became an independent Missile Battalion (ordn).

In March 1964 all the independent R-16 battalions were upgraded to regiments:

The 535th Missile Regiment was activated 20.12.66, but was transferred to Zhangiz Tobe, Semipalatinsk Oblast, on 17.11.67 (57th Missile Division) - the 539th Missile Regiment was activated in 1966, but in 1967 would move to Derzhavinsk, Turgay Oblast, under the 38th Missile Division.

Four missile regiments left the division in 1969:

Organisation 1970:

The 146th Guards Missile Regiment was disbanded in 1975.

The R-16 missile was phased out in 1977.

Three Missile Regiments arrived at Nizhniy Tagil, Sverdlovsk Oblast, during the 1978-1981 period.

Organisation 1982 (45 RSD-10 Pioner-K missiles):

The division converted to the RT-2PM Topol (SS-25) missile in 1985.

Organisation 1998 (45 RT-2PM Topol missiles) :

1999 honoured with the name "Tagilskaya".

The 308th Guards Missile Regiment was disbanded in 2003.

The 617th Missile Regiment was disbanded 2008.


Support Units:

Verkhnaya Salda ICBM complex coordinates: