38th Missile Division

38-я ракетная дивизия

Military Unit: 33738


Activated 5.64 in Derzhavinsk, Turgay Oblast, as Operation Group Derzhavinsk - 4.65 renamed 38th Missile Division.

Initially under the 7th independent Guards Missile Corps, and from 1.6.65 the 24th independent Missile Corps.

From 8.6.70 attached to the 31st Missile Army.

Organisation 1972:

The first regiment was increased to 10 silos in 1975, with the introduction of the R-36M missile.

The R-36M2 was introduced in 1989.

Organisation 1992 (four regiments with R-36M2, and four regiments with R-36MUTTKh):

From 8.4.93 attached to the 33rd Guards Missile Army.

The missiles were withdrawn from 1992 onwards, and the division was disbanded 30.9.96.

Support Units:

Divisional coordinates:

For launch silos, see individual regiments.