19th Zaporozhskaya Red Banner order of Suvorov and Kutuzov Missile Division

19-я ракетная Запорожская Краснознаменная орденов Суворова и Кутузова дивизия

Military Unit: 33874


Activated 1.12.60 in Gaisin, Vinnitsa Oblast, from the 7th Artillery Division RVGK.

Organisation 1961:

In 1961 the 431st Guards Missile Regiment was transferred to the 50th Missile Division.

The 60th Missile Regiment was activated 1.9.61 at Pultovtsy, Vinnitsa Oblast.

Divisional HQ transferred to Rakovo, near Khmelnitskiy in 1964.

In 1967 it is decided to rearm the division with the UR-100, and the first silo construction takes place in 1968 in the Khmelnitskiy region [US designation: Derazhnya ICBM complex - Type IIID silos]. Initially 60 silos, but by 1970 it has been decided to expand the divison to 90 silos.

On 25.5.72 the 433rd Guards Missile Regiment were transferred to the 43rd Guards Missile Division.

Organisation 1972 (60 UR-100 silos in 6 launch groups):

Three more regiments became operational in 1973/1974 with the UR-100U (SS-11 Mod.4) (regiments arrives 1970/71 from the Far East and from Yurya, Kirov Oblast).

The division converted to the new UR-100N (SS-19) 1973-1975, with the first regiment becoming operational 25.12.73.

Organisation 1979 (90 UR-100U/N silos in 9 launch groups):

The division converted to the UR-100NU (SS-19 Mod.3) 1979-1983, with the first regiment becoming operational 6.11.79.

Organisation 1991 (90 UR-100N/NU silos in 9 launch groups):

Disbanded 1.12.99.


Support Units:

Divisional coordinates:

For launch silos, see individual regiments.