109th Anti-Aircraft Missile Brigade

109-я зенитно-ракетная бригада

Military Unit: 16802

Activated 1960 in Knyaze-Volkonskoye, Khabarovsk Kray, as the 000 Anti-Aircraft Missile Regiment.

Initially with 5 S-75 (SA-2) battalions.

Organisation 1964:

In 1968 five S-125 (SA-3) battalions were activated, while three S-75 (S-125) battalions were disbanded.

Organisation 1968:

In 1968 an independent Anti-Aircraft Missile Group with 3 launch S-200 (SA-5) battalions were added to the brigade (converted to the S-300 (SA-10) missile in the late 1990's):

In 1968 renamed 109th Anti-Aircraft Missile Brigade.

1990 with 2 S-75 (SA-2), 5 S-125 (SA-3) and 2 S-200 (SA-5) battalions, and possibly up to 6 additional mobilisation battalions.

From 1993 began converting to the S-300PS (SA-10) missile.

1994 renamed 1529th Guards Anti-Aircraft Missile Regiment, inheriting the Guards title from the 237th Guards Anti-Aircraft Missile Regiment.