272nd Svirsko-Pomeranskaya Red Banner order of the Red Star Motorised Rifle Division

272-я мотострелковая Свирско-Померанская Краснознамённая ордена Красной Звезды дивизия

Military Unit: 17689; from 2.67: 61424

Activated 25.6.57 in Kursk, Kursk Oblast, as the 46th Motorised Rifle Division, from the 46th Rifle Division.

Organisation 1960:

19.2.62 re-organised:

17.11.64 renamed 272nd Motorised Rifle Division.

In 2.67 the 153rd Motorised Rifle Regiment remained in Kursk, and was used to activate the new 245th Motorised Rifle Division, and was replaced by the new 695th Motorised Rifle Regiment.

In 1968 the 620th independent Sapper Battalion was renamed 620th independent Engineer-Sapper Battalion.

In 1969 re-organised:

Organisation 1970:

15.11.72 re-organised:

In June 1978 all units based in Birobodzhan was transferred to Babstovo.

In 1980 the 000 independent Motor Transport Battalion was renamed 1147th independent Material Supply Battalion.

Organisation 1980:

Organisation 1988:

27.7.89 renamed 128th Machine-Gun Artillery Division.

In 7.89 the 209th Motorised Rifle Regiment was disbanded, and was replaced by the 63rd Machine-Gun Artillery Regiment (activated from the 3rd Fortified Area).

In 1990 the 159th Motorised Rifle Regiment was disbanded.

In 1991 the 1192nd Anti-Aircraft Missile Regiment was disbanded, and was replaced by the 1092nd Anti-Aircraft Missile Regiment.

4.2.93 renamed 173rd Mobile Fortress Brigade.

In 12.93 the 155th Motorised Rifle Regiment was divided into three independent Mobile Battalions (229th, 231st and 308th).

12.5.97 renamed 128th Machine-Gun Artillery Division.

Organisation 1997:

1.6.2009 renamed 69th independent Fortress Brigade.



Divisional coordinates:

The division was maintained as a Ready Division - Reduced Strength II (US terms: Category II)